2004 Expedition Log

Read our Daily Updates and Share our Discoveries

2004 Expedition Log

    Saturday September 11, 2004 |

    A wonderful end to the Trouvadore expedition, a press conference with Honorable Lillian Been, Minister of Education, Culture, Youth and Sports of the Turks and Caicos Government, and a special reception and cultural show at Hemingways on the beach

    Friday September 10, 2004 |

    A frantic morning of packing, a treacherous crossing across the Turks Island Passage for a few brave heroes and preparations begin for the reception at the Sands at Grace Bay

    Thursday September 9, 2004 |

    Messages in bottles, a mysterious stone cairn and the Los Angeles Times makes a visit.

    Wednesday September 8, 2004 |

    Stormy skies, underwater activity, a trip to Bambarra and a dose of bush medicine.

    Tuesday September 7, 2004 |

    By Jackie Mulligan 6.30am: The early start is mitigated by a delicious breakfast of bacon and eggs. The hardened archaeologists in the group continue to be amazed at the luxury they are enjoying on board the Turks and Caicos Explorer. They claim good food, good sleep and comfort are not the usual fare on archaeological. more…

    Monday September 6, 2004 |

    A day of tracking, confirmation of the metal shipwreck, landfall on Breezy Point and a pair of missing glasses.

    Sunday September 5, 2004 |

    Sunrise over the Caicos Islands, towboarding, a second look at some of the sites, birthday greetings and a mysterious cloud.

    Saturday September 4, 2004 |

    Preparations begin again, the boat is packed, a tropical storm on its way and the whole team get a sense of deja vu…

    Friday September 3, 2004 |

    Team prepares to go out again to find Trouvadore.

    Thursday September 2, 2004 |

    Storm continues. Now an ALL-CLEAR!